The Cycle of A Sock, Part One

cast on in pink yarn

First we must make the needles

from a dowel, like the one that holds

my grandmother’s kitchen curtain.

Sand it very smooth.

Make a clay stopper for the end

and fire it in the oven.

 

You will know how to do all those things.

Now you have about size 10 needles,

A good practice size.

Of course we could digress to spinning

and plying and dying the yarn.

Instead, buy some mid weight yarn

you absolutely love.  You must love it

around the world and back.

You’ll be seeing it everyday for a while.

 

I have to show you how to cast on.

Of course there are simplier ways

but learn right the first time.

You’ll never regret it.  Make a loop,

See.  Good.  Slide the loop on one needle.

Now, we have to make a rabbit hole

with yarn in the other hand.

Let the needle chase the bunny.

 

Okay, I see this is too complicated.

Try this.  Give me those fiddlesticks.

I’ll sand them down so there are no splinters.

You watch how I hold the yarn.

You must check the die lot.

See that little number there

matches this second skein.

Good.  Now I cast on.

72 stitches on three needles.

We’ll discuss the concept of the heel

when we get there.  For now,

just knit.  See. In around, out and off.

Great job.  You’ll get it in no time.

You’re seven.  This is a good summer

project when your hands get fidgety

and you’re tired of adults jabbering.

I learned when I was four.

C.J. Prince

©2016

About cjprincepoet

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cycle of A Sock, Part One

  1. gaye green says:

    You know how cats on the internet are scared of cucumbers.  My little silly is afraid of socks.  It doesn’t matter what color it is or kind…..if she happens upon a sock in a place she doesn’t expect, she will bat it, circle it, and watch behind her back to make certain it is not following her or trying to sneak up on her.  Socks are out to get her…..she is convinced.  When I hold a sock and let her smell it it does no good.  She is still certain that the cloth is evil and ominous in its design.  I don’t know where the fear originated….for all I know there is a sock monster that steals random foot attire, but for now I leave the lone white sock on the floor wondering how long the dreaded cloth will petrify my poor kitty.  Second thought….in the laundry it goes  🙂

    From: C.J. Prince Author To: gaelicacres1@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, April 19, 2016 11:13 PM Subject: [New post] The Cycle of A Sock, Part One #yiv5698611740 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5698611740 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5698611740 a.yiv5698611740primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5698611740 a.yiv5698611740primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5698611740 a.yiv5698611740primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5698611740 a.yiv5698611740primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5698611740 WordPress.com | cjprinceauthor posted: “First we must make the needlesfrom a dowel, like the one that holdsmy grandmother’s kitchen curtain.Sand it very smooth.Make a clay stopper for the endand fire it in the oven. You will know how to do all those things.Now you have ab” | |

  2. kristin says:

    That sounds like a good project, from making the knitting needles to learning to knit. I learned and made myself a long scarf for winter when I was in college. That is all I ever knitted. And that on store bought needles.
    Finding Eliza

  3. Victoria says:

    Love this! So descriptive, so complicated…uh….even a 4 year old can do it…that is, if you are as smart and precocious at a 4 year old CJ!!

Leave a Reply

