Point of View

great white sharks

Point of View

 

Bare feet on mossy gang plank.

Sharks chomp below,

thousands of teeth

wait for the push.

Quartermaster of the Universe speaks:

Change places.

Mouth wide, I am shark,

no tongue long enough

to lick over razor teeth,

ravenous for the morsel

above.  Come to me.

Change places.

I will push the scientific

proof against your spine.

You will drop the cloak of denial.

Turn now.  Face me.

You are not yet a shark snack.

Come with me.

Change places.

I am the ocean, immense,

absorbing all things,

cleansing, transmuting.

I flow with the moon,

accept what is tossed.

You are welcome here.

Change places.

 

Observe.  Accept.

Everything changes.

~C.J. Prince

©2015

About cjprinceauthor

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Point of View

  1. splawswriter says:

    CJ- this poem moved me, it really did, especially this part “Change places./ I am the ocean, immense,/ absorbing all things,” and this line “I will push the scientific proof against your spine.”
    thank you for sharing your words.

  2. susanissima says:

    Hard for me to relax into this well-crafted poem…I’ve had a shark thing ever since I saw what one did to Bethany Hamilton on Kauai. Still, point well taken. Wondering what inspired this one.

Leave a Reply

