No Aubade for Noctural Devotees

Florencia Carla

No Aubade for Noctural Devotees

My morning is your afternoon.

I waken as you yearn for siesta.

The daybreak birds are silent now.

I see the midnight hour come and go.

My window opens that I may

breathe the night to noon

and fill my dreams with fir and cedar.

Dawn may please early risers.

I know it not.  ‘Tis peace of darkness

that reveals a full moon halo,

meteors, northern lights

and the unexpected call of owl.

Daylight speaks of last wills and testaments,

death and war, the time of cacophony

and frantic rush to increase the bottom

line and meet the next deadline.

The poet rocks and gazes out the window

to see life anew.  The Japanese maple

leafs out to exotic  chartreuse flare.

Nyctophiles gather with bone china

tea cups, just as you meet for cocktails

and think us non-conformists,

eccentric and bohemian.

I know the sky by looking up, not

from books.  Revel  as you will

with rhapsodies of dawn.

The sun will pass me by and I shall

wait in cedar darkness to see

what libation the Big Dipper

pours tonight.

~C.J. Prince

©2015

About cjprinceauthor

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Aubade for Noctural Devotees

  1. susanissima says:

    Magnificent revelation of you dancing to your own kind of night light.

Leave a Reply

