Nirvana 9 April 2014

NaPoWriMo PROMPT:   was suggested by Bruce Niedt. Here’s Bruce’s explanation: take any random song play list (from your iPod, CO player, favorite radio station, Pandora or Spotify , etc.) and use the next five song titles on that randomized list in a poem.

This was a challenge for me because I don’t have a song list, nor an I pod and Pandora is a mismash I can’t access as a list.  So, it took a few days to compile songs cataloged in my mind and then I forgot the details of the prompt.  So, perhaps I went overboard.  (Who me?)  This was great fun.  Come with me to Nirvana.

Image

Nirvana

She swept the strawberry fields from her eyes.

There was no forever

and she needed the consistency of the moon.

Leaving the house of the rising sun,

because she didn’t wanna be sedated,

she stopped for a Marrakesh espresso.

 

Walk this way, called the man

with the peace sign.

Yes, she’d get off the crazy train,

forget the symphony for the devil

because she didn’t fear the reaper

anymore.  She was back in black.

Her reflection in a store window shimmered.

 

Thunderstruck, she wanted to twist and shout       

as an eruption of emotion made her a freewoman,

strong as an iron man, full of inner TNT,

a freebird.  It was time she came together

with herself.  These boots weren’t made for stompin’.

She danced past the peace man, twirled

and skipped until she saw the purple haze

over the bay.  Yes, she was on the stairway to heaven

where her guitar would gently weep.

   

   C.J. Prince

   ©2014

About cjprinceauthor

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nirvana 9 April 2014

  1. I sure like your adaptation “Marrakesh espresso”!

Leave a Reply

