Love Beneath Cedars 7 April 2014

NaPoWriMo PROMPT:  Today’s prompt is to write a love poem . . . but the object of the poem should be inanimate. You can write a love poem to your favorite pen, the teddy bear you had as a child (and maybe still have), or anything else, so long as it’s not alive! 

 

Image

Love Beneath Cedars

You hang there, un-noticed,

In the west window, watching

Day and night without opinion,

Disguised by winter blinds.

 

You are blind to your beauty,

Staring beyond the window

To a cedar grove

And sword ferns unraveling.

 

That day at Avenue Bread,

I said Frogs will save the world.

Barb nodded and we turned

Back to our laptops,

To writing our novels.

 

The next time we met in the yeast

Scented air, she handed you to me.

I exclaimed at your beauty,

Could not imagine your creator

Or that she would allow you to leave

Her realm.

 

On permanent loan.  She smiled.

He’s from Bali.

I recognized the style of carving,

The elaborate colors dotting

Your body.  I loved you

On first sight.

 

You hang on a thin thread

In the place of meditation,

A frog of exceptional beauty.

You are here to save the world.

You could not save Barb.

   

   C.J. Prince

   ©2014

About cjprinceauthor

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Beneath Cedars 7 April 2014

  1. Karen Dyer says:

    “You could not save Barb.” I like this a lot.

Leave a Reply

