APRIL 1st, 2014: Venus to Botticelli

NaPoWriMo PROMPT:  Our prompts are there just to help those who are having trouble getting inspired – if you’re full up on inspiration, there’s no need to follow them. With that out of the way, I’ve chosen something I hope will be fun and simple, to ease you into your first day. Today, I’d like you to go to Reb Livingston’s Bibliomancy Oracle. Clear your mind, push the button, and then write a poem based on the quotation that the oracle provides. Happy writing!

“Gratitude is the act of greeting
every stranger as if they approached you
in dream. Or every letter the moon
tries to hand you. The curved light equations”

This is how I started with the suggestion for a ephrastic poem.

 

Image

Venus to Botticelli

You think that I am just born, fool,

that I am shy and cover my delicacy?

Who are you to dash forth with fear

disguised as cloth?  Do you know

that I walk the paths of Lilith

and long have known Isis

and women of power you know not.

You assume me to be angelic

by the company I keep.

Be wary.  Some angels have bad breath.

              C.J. Prince

               ©2014

 

 

About cjprinceauthor

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to APRIL 1st, 2014: Venus to Botticelli

  1. susanissima says:

    I love what you did here. Venus has an edgy attitude and your poem flows. Sounds like you had a great time writing it. Here’s my ekphrastic effort:
    http://stilllifewithtortillas.com/2014/04/01/wild-night-wild-night/

Leave a Reply

