My Muse in an Email

Little things mean a lot. It was just a routine group email but I read it which is the important part. And Carol McMillan sent it…it took both those things to shift the resistance that has bound me for several years. So I scheduled an appointment with myself. The painting has been on my easel for three, perhaps four, years. I turned it upside down a year or two ago. So, Carol sends the reminder that Valley Arts Group is changing out paintings next Saturday. 

Today, there it is on my calendar. PAINT. I panic for a moment when I can’t even find my oils. Then I remember they’re in that old treasure chest looking thing covered in dust. I start to get sidetracked repairing it. NO. Not on the schedule. Then I can’t get the paints open. Get a pair of pliers out of the kitchen drawer (I use them all the time). Finally, tubes open, paint smeared on a long saved piece of plastic, turpentine and linseed oil open (inhale now)…oh, no…where are my brushes? Only one and a dinky collection of sponges on sticks. OK now. Use what you have.

I leave it upside down, use my non-dominant hand, slip into that zone where I am not present and the faeries sing. I finished the painting this afternoon. Almost ruined it by not listening to it say it is DONE.

It dries now. I will hang it next week. I think the portal is open again. Thanks to Carol McMillan and that group email.

About cjprinceauthor

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

