POSTCARD POETRY FEST: August 15 2013

A poem a day is a great  opportunity to rev up your writing, grab images and find the gem in the mundane.  Here’s another one from August’s Postcard Poetry Fest.

martini glass with green oliive

“Don’t.”  That’s the first word

I remember…a voice from above,

Don’t doesn’t mean anything

if you’re eighteen months old.

Adults on the couch, laugh,

sip martinis.

I reach to the huge green olive

with a pimiento dot.

A finger wags.  I wait.

Sip. Sip. Sip.  They drink

and then a glass is lowered.

I snatch the shiny green treasure,

suck tart juice, bite into chilled olive,

martini juice runs to my elbow.

On Friday night’s they forget

the “don’t”s.

 

   C.J. Prince

©2013

   Bellingham, WA

About cjprincepoet

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

