Postcard Poetry Festival: August 9th, 2013

This poem came from an interesting writing practice group.  Open the dictionary and look up the page with your first or last name.  Or take the number of the month you were born.   Take the first word at the top of the page and the last word on the page and incorporate into a poem.  Thus comes Alcestis.  This is what happened:

Image

Image credit:  Jade Williams Smith

A trembling of the lip—

Admetus speaks her name.

Alcestis,

he shouts into the abyss.

Hades, who burns

for the pomegranate girl,

is ripe for Alcestis too.

On an alp, a wolf pierces

midnight.

Sacrifice what you will,

Sirius still shines.

C.J. Prince

©2013

About cjprincepoet

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

