For Jackie de Maya

NaPoWri urges us on…just as the energy might lag, we get another prompt.  This takes me where I might not go and I am grateful.

And now our (totally optional) prompt! Early on in the month, I asked you to write a valediction — a poem of farewell. Today, let’s try the opposite, and write poems of greeting. There’s lots of things you could greet. The spring? Your new stapler? A favorite classmate? An addition to the menu at your local cafe? The subject’s up to you — now get out there and say “hello!”

Image

 PHOTO CREDIT:

C.J. PRINCE

For Jackie de Maya

Your air mail letter sits atop my journal

on the dining table.

I was seventeen when we met.

 

Did you burn your bra?

I just forgot to wear mine one day.

Rebellion ran to deeper issues

 

then when I picketed with the ACLU,

studied Russian and Chaucer.

I smoked my first joint with you.

 

We’ve walked Missouri woods,

that cove in Santa Barbara,

Madrona Point.

 

For over forty years

we’ve written letters.

I send yours back in batches

 

waiting for your memoir.

Now I walk the rocky shore

at Squalicum Harbor,

 

gaze acros the bay

as wind whips my red and white hair.

Hello.

 Copyright 2013

C.J. Prince

About cjprincepoet

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For Jackie de Maya

  1. Enid Segal says:

    Touched deep within my heart.

Leave a Reply

