POEM TEN

Once again, the prompt from NaPoWriMo which will help you see what inspired me:

And now, the (again, optional) prompt. Many of us have read and even written love poems. But have you written an un-love poem?

You Fit Into Me

You fit into me
like a hook into an eye

a fish hook
an open eye

–Margaret Atwood

An un-love poem isn’t a poem of hate, exactly — that might be a bit too shrill or boring. It’s more like a poem of sarcastic dislike. This is a good time to get in a good dig at people who chew with their mouth open, or always take the last oreo. If there’s no person you feel comfortable un-loving, maybe there’s a phenomenon? Like squirrels that eat your tomatoes. (I have many, many bitter feelings about tomato-eating squirrels). There’s lots of ways to go with this one, and lots of room for humor and surprise as well. Happy writing!

Image

 

PHOTO CREDIT:  C.J. PRINCE

 

NOW

Unlove me now

for you cannot love me true.

Love does not possess,

yet you do

as if I am a new diamond ring.

I am no worthless object

To toss aside.

Your love smothers,

Unsought, unwanted,

Unrequited.

 

Unlove me now

or there will be consequences.

 

 

About cjprinceauthor

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

