Vegan Schmegan

Image

Fresh veggies in Bellingham                              Photo credit:  C.J. Prince

“Are you 100% vegan?” I asked my daughter in a text.  She came to visit last week and I wanted to be 100% prepared.  After all, I used to be a Girl Scout.

“Except for honey on occasion” was the reply.  HONEY?  I had never thought about honey as vegan but I saw immediately that it was an animal byproduct.  Oh.  Well I already had rice syrup and agave on the counter so I was covered.

This should all come easily.  I’ve been a vegetarian for 40 plus years.  Some years more casually than others.  A year ago my daughter gave me a copy of “The Happy Herbivore” and I became a vegan.  Maybe a 98.3% vegan.

If you live in the Northwest, can you really go forever without salmon ?  Maybe now that the waters are contaminated by debris from last year’s tsunami in Japan, it will become a consideration.

What did I learn from my daughter?  Did you know they make vegan butter?  Really.  And it tastes great.  Makes me want to make scampi.  Oh, no.  That’s  a little crawly thing from the  ocean.  Anyway, it was great to learn about that.  I’d already discovered vegan cream cheese and have been making cheesecake that is better than anything New York can claim!

Why vegan?  Do you know where your food comes from?  I want to see a smear of dirt on my carrot, not a glob of blood on a package.  “Fork Over Knives”, the movie and the book, gives a very intense background on the health values of a vegan diet.  The book “Eat Right 4 Your Type” will tell you why an O Blood Type needs good red meat.  So, there is a reason for everything.

I followed my natural inclinations in the 60s and became a vegetarian.  (I’m an A Blood Type, no meat allowed.)

We evolve.  We experiment.  We change.  We eat what is best to current knowledge.  What are you eating these days?

About cjprinceauthor

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

