A New Tattoo

You want a tattoo.  You think about it.  Perhaps you’re a little afraid.  And what  kind of artwork will you carry for life?

My first tattoo was perhaps 35 years ago.  I pondered briefly…and knew a butterfly would symbolize the inner transformations evolving in my life.  My friend drove me to Riverside and dropped me at the corner tattoo shop where I found a fabulous artist who had a degree in art but couldn’t get work.  He called himself a dermagraphologist.  Lovely title, eh?  Unfortunately I don’t remember his name or I’d look him up on Facebook and see if he still adorned the flesh.  I got three tattoos from him.  That alone will be another story.  Long and feisty and in retrospect funny.

But why wait thirty five years for another tattoo?  Well, I did get a Celtic tattoo symbol of the triple goddess in 2003.  And in 2010 I decided the best way to celebrate seven decades was with a new tattoo.  I envisioned a vine on my arm and then with flowers and then with flowers the color of the chakras, including the Star chakra above the head.  And — after asking anyone tattooed in Bellingham (or Seattle)–I heard the name Brian again and again.  So, he was who I would go to…I found Brian and my tattoo to honor not only my longevity on the planet but also the healing of the fractured tuberosity of the humerus is a complete work of art.

So, what would the next tattoo be?  It lingers as an invitation.  What would that be like to have a yin/yang symbol, to have an Egyptian goddess…say, Isis in her classic form with massive rainbow wings, what if….on and on I dreamed.

Two of my totem animals spoke to me regularly and with such intensity that I could only honor them.  I went to Brian with my ideas.  A raven and an owl.  Day and night.  Raven cautioning me to be alert and pay attention.  Owl keeps my back, filters my dreams, soothes my restless sleep.

And so another journey has begun.  I’ll keep you posted.

About cjprincepoet

I write. I read. I write and read...I listen to raindrops on begonias, talk to ravens, dance with dragons. I practice Tai Chi in a barn, I sleep with earth stones and tarot cards. I celebrate each day. Join me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

